Become a Wyoming notary public with Notary Rotary, Inc.
An individual must meet the following criteria to be appointed as a notary public for the State of Wyoming:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Be a resident of the State of Wyoming and the county from which you are making the application
- Be able to read and write the English language
- A convicted felon is not eligible to be a notary unless the felony conviction has been:
- Reversed or annulled;
- Pardoned; or
- All rights have been restored pursuant to W.S. 7-13-105(a)
Length of Appointment:
A State of Wyoming notary public commission is valid for a period of four (4) years unless resigned or revoked sooner.
Step 1: Obtain the Notary Public Handbook and the Wyoming Notary Public Commission Application
Download and thoroughly read the Wyoming Notary Public Handbook. Completion of the Notary Public self help test is encouraged, but not mandatory.
When you are comfortable with your understanding of the rules, regulations, and procedures associated with being a Wyoming notary public, download and complete the Wyoming Notary Public Application, leaving no blank spaces.
Send the completed application, test form and $30 filing fee (make checks payable to "Secretary of State") to the following address:
Secretary of State's office
200 West 24th Street
Cheyenne, WY 82002-0020
For questions regarding the application call, (307) 777-7311.
Step 2: Order your surety bond and other supplies from Notary Rotary, Inc.
You should receive notification from the Secretary of State within several days of mailing your file. Once you receive notification, you will need to purchase purchase a $500 Wyoming Surety Bond and Oath, which is available online from Notary Rotary.
Step 3: File your bond with the county clerk
Once you have received your Wyoming surety bond and oath, take the bond to the County Clerk's Office in the county where you reside to be filed. The bond must be recorded by the County Clerk within 60 days of the beginning date of your commission. Failure to do so will disqualify you and you will forfeit your filing fee.
A recording fee is payable to the county clerk’s office at the time of filing the bond. This fee varies from
county to county. For specific fees contact your county clerk.
After filing your bond and taking the oath, you will receive a Certificate of Commission from the Clerk.
Step 4: Purchase your notary seal and other notary supplies from Notary Rotary, Inc.
Wyoming law states a notary must own and use a notarial seal to authenticate all acts performed as a notary public. However, you must wait to order your seal until you receive your Certificate of Commission. Visit the Notary Rotary online store to order your official Wyoming Notary Seal.
After you order your notary seal and other supplies, mail your Certificate of Commission to:
500 New York Ave
Des Moines, IA 50313
OR, fax a copy of your commission to Notary Rotary at 877-349-6590. Your official notary seal will not be manufactured until we receive your Certificate of Commission.
Although Wyoming statues do not require keeping a notary journal, it is wise and highly recommended by the Secretary of State. The notary journal helps prevent confusion and protects the notary from accusations of wrong doing. A notary journal is a permanent detailed written record of all notarizations performed by the notary. Visit the Notary Rotary online store to purchase additional supplies and insurance. Your order will be processed as soon as possible, usually shipping in one to two days.