Notary Rotary
Help! Cancellation
Notary Discussion History

Help! Cancellation
Go Back to January, 2004 Index

Posted by anonymous on 1/24/04 10:16am
Msg #743

Help! Cancellation

Hello. I'm a newbie (3 weeks) and ran into my first problem today. I am really hoping for some advice. I was contacted yesterday (Friday) around 4pm by a signing company and asked to do a closing this morning (Saturday). By the time I received the email on the docs, it was after business hours for the lender, the signing service and the tech support. I spent over 3 hours attempting to download the docs. When I finally did reach someone this morning at the signing service, they instructed me to go to Staples and have them download & print the docs. I was hesistant to do this because I have heard so many stories about not being paid that I didn't want to spend money out of my own pocket, but since I am new and don't want to create a bad name for myself, I did it anyways. I drove to Staples in a snowstorm and even they were unable to print out the docs. They printed out as gibberish. By now, I had about 4 hours invested in this, the closing was in an hour and still no docs. I had to call and cancel. The signing service was not pleased, to say the least. But I really felt I did everything in my power to make it happen. Now I am worried about creating a bad name for myself. How would you have handled the situation? Please help! Thanks for your time.

Reply by Anonymous on 1/24/04 12:03pm
Msg #744

Hi Newbie:
It could happen to anyone. I would have not spent that long attempting to download the edocs. After an hour I would have called Staples to see if maybe they could do it. Considering the weather conditions. It all depends on the person there running the system as well. And the SS person sending them.
I have had gibberish come through in the middle of downloading docs only to learn it was the fault of the person at the "Lenders" office sending it out.