Notarizing Living Wills
Notary Discussion History

Notarizing Living Wills
Go Back to April, 2005 Index

Posted by HL in PA on 4/14/05 7:33am
Msg #31717

Notarizing Living Wills

Hello,

I have been asked to notarize a living will. The clients (husband/wife) had the documents drawn up for them and they just want me to do the notarizations. Since I am new to doing living wills I was wondering what feedback I could receive from my fellow notaries. Also, any ideas on what a reasonable fee may be to do this since this will be my first time notarizing living wills. I have strictly been doing mostly home closings and obviously there is a difference. I don't want to under charge but I also don't want to overcharge since I am good friends with the couple's family.

Any advice or "heads-up" is much appreciated!

Reply by PAW_Fl on 4/14/05 7:49am
Msg #31719

Apparently, this is a "notary only" job, so therefore, you can only charge what your state allows for notary fees, plus reasonable mileage charge. Of course, you don't have to charge at all, it is up to you.

You may need witnesses, other than yourself, depending on how the document is prepared. Some attorneys prepare them such that the witnesses (often two of them) are under oath that they know the signers to be of sound mind and are doing this under their own free will. This makes the wills "self proving". Since the witnesses must be placed under oath, the notary cannot be a witness in that case. The testator often signs twice on the document, once as an acknowledgment and again as being under oath and swearing the information is true and accurate.

Other than that, you are not to be concerned with the contents of the will. Just make sure it is complete and the proper people sign it and you notarize it. Follow PA statutes for notarization and you'll do just fine.

Reply by HL in PA on 4/14/05 8:21am
Msg #31724

Hi PAW, Thanks for the quick response. I had figured around that amount.