Notary Rotary
stamp vs. embosser
Notary Discussion History

stamp vs. embosser
Go Back to March, 2007 Index

Posted by FWP/WA on 3/14/07 6:17pm
Msg #179945

stamp vs. embosser

I'm a newbie (hey! stop throwing stuff at me!) Just kidding!

Seriously, I had a question regarding the notary stamp vs an embosser. I'm curious what types of documents you might need an embosser for. I have had my stamp for quite awhile (about a year and a half), and just ordered the embosser.

Thanks for any insight you can provide.

Reply by dickb/wi on 3/14/07 6:22pm
Msg #179947

i only use an embosser........had a stamp many years ago but didn't like it......some times it would only partially stamp and some times it would smear and some times i couldn't find the space for it, so in the trash it went.....i like my embosser and crimp where ever i want...........

Reply by FWP/WA on 3/14/07 6:44pm
Msg #179952

One of the concerns I had when I originally became a notary was that with an embosser, copies of the document wouldn't show the seal, so I got the stamp instead.

We use it for notarizing 'affidavit's of service' which are filed with the courts. (I'm also a process server).

I guess since I've already ordered it (and it's on its way, NotRot is great!), I'll have both, and be prepared.

Reply by Jill/NY on 3/14/07 6:59pm
Msg #179954

I use both the stamp and the embosser. I always use the embosser over my signature. I also stamp and doc that needs to be notarized, as long as there is a space to do it in.

Reply by Sylvia_FL on 3/14/07 7:04pm
Msg #179955

In Florida we can only use the stamp as the official seal. We can use an embosser, but only in addition to the stamp, not on its own.

Reply by Susan Fischer on 3/14/07 7:10pm
Msg #179956

Same in OR. Embosser only in addition to stamp. n/m

Reply by ikesgal on 3/15/07 1:59pm
Msg #180082

I have used an embosser for 35 years and never had a problem but I do use and embosser stamp that stamps over the impression to make it readable