Notary Rotary
Texas Signing Agent questions
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to April, 2010 Index

Posted by Pete Hess on 4/2/10 1:39am
Msg #330071

Ok, I was told that in the state of Texas any kind of mortgage or heloc or refi's or anything of the such need to be notarized in an attorney's office or title company office or real estate office.

Now I've been told by a real estate agent that this information is wrong.

Can someone shed some light on this for me? I've been doing signing in Florida for over 6 years and didn't have this debacle.

Thanks!

Reply by BrendaTx on 4/2/10 5:46am
Msg #330073

The Tx Constitution (no less) says that a home equity loan which encumbers a Texas property must be notarized (signed/closed) within the walls of a law office, branch of the lender, or a title company. The borrower is also supposed to receive a full copy of the signed documents after signing. This is pretty much common knowledge among Tx NSAs.

Refis and RMs okay; equity loans or cash outs, not ok without the venue of one of the above. Real estate agent apparently doesn't know.

Until the last twenty five years, Texans did not get 2nd mortgages on their homes. Lawmakers didn't like it and put all kinds of restrictions on signing them up when they came to pass...at least that's my lay opinion of these strange requirements. I kind of hate that Texans are mortgaging now with equity loans, myself. It saved our Texas bacon years ago when the economy went to he77 in a handbasket...now, Texas is going right along with the rest of them who over-extend themselves.

*Can someone shed some light on this for me? I've been doing signing in Florida for over 6 years and didn't have this debacle* Florida and Texas: very little in common as far as real estate transactions go...except for the occasional bowl of oranges on the table.

Reply by BrendaTx on 4/2/10 7:00am
Msg #330076

Re: Texas Signing Agent -- ridiculous, but must add...