Notary Rotary
Why didn't I do this sooner??!!
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to April, 2010 Index

Posted by Jessica Ward on 4/24/10 1:24am
Msg #333202

Ok, I did it. Today between a couple of long-distance closings, I broke down and bought a navigation system--a TomTom. I've never used one before--and when my map books won't get me out of a pinch I've used the GPS on my phone to "locate myself" and then reference back to a map.

This works well, except when I'm in a dead zone (like the Cascade Mountains) the mobile phone doesn't tell me when it's stopped updating and once at nearly midnight, when I was supposed to be in far-suburbia, I started seeing Ski Lifts. Frantically I pulled over to check my phone's GPS only to discover it had stopped updating 25 miles earlier. I said a really, really bad word.

I imagine I'm the very last one to make this upgrade, but in case I'm not the last one--seriously consider getting something like this--I don't think you'll regret it. It got me out of a pinch already today! They were much less expensive than I ever imagined.

--Your friendly Luddite notary in WA.

Reply by CopperheadVA on 4/24/10 6:04am
Msg #333207

I broke down and bought a GPS three years ago after getting hopelessly lost one day on some back roads. Here in VA, if a street sign gets knocked down, it may not get put back up for a while and it's easy to get lost. Of course I was very late to my appointment.