Notary Rotary
Will and Power of Attorney
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to April, 2010 Index

Posted by tann on 4/8/10 7:00pm
Msg #330818

Has anyone notarized a Will and Power of Attorney before?

I just spoke with this customer who was screaming on the phone about not being able to find a Notary in Virginia who would notarize a Will and Power of Attorney? This customer was so upset and I informed him that I have never done one before and not only that but that I have an obligation tomorrow when he wanted it done...This customer has told me that I wasted his time because I gave him a name of another Notary but this customer was screaming on the phone and said he was going to Richmond to make a complaint on the Virginia Notaries because they are not available.

Reply by MW/VA on 4/8/10 7:22pm
Msg #330822

Some notaries will not notarize a Will because of the legal

implications. Just because we notarize it, that doesn't make it legal. Wills have to comply with certain language in each state. Yes, I do general notary work & do notarize POA's & Wills.

Reply by LKT/CA on 4/8/10 7:39pm
Msg #330831

In California, Wills are only notarized (the signature) on the recommendation of an attorney. Typically, they are witnessed by two adults, not named in the will. Signatures on POA forms are notarized like any other form - ID signer, watch them sign.........

Reply by Victoria_NJ on 4/8/10 8:06pm
Msg #330846

in some states, both the Principal and the Agent (POA)

must sign the POA agreement. So you need to have both parties available. The one giving the POA (principal) and the Agent (Attorney in Fact/POA)

Reply by LKT/CA on 4/8/10 11:40pm
Msg #330888

Re: in some states, both the Principal and the Agent (POA)

<<<must sign the POA agreement. So you need to have both parties available. The one giving the POA (principal) and the Agent (Attorney in Fact/POA) >>>