Notary Rotary
help
Notary Discussion History

help
Go Back to April, 2010 Index

Posted by Rebecca Hogan on 4/3/10 11:14pm
Msg #330274

help

I am new to Notary Business How do I get these Companies to call me and Hire me?

Reply by Marian_in_CA on 4/3/10 11:55pm
Msg #330278

Okay, I'm going to be kind of blunt. If you don't know the answer to that... you're not "in" the business yet, you're just researching it. Do you have a business plan?

Start with the search function here, and try "newbie" -- you'll find TONS of information.

Also, search for Message # 33325. Some of the earlier information in that thread is out of date, but much of it still applies.

Reply by Susan Fischer on 4/4/10 1:37am
Msg #330280

Dear Ms. Hogan:

Thank you for your inquiry. As you may know, the mobile notary business has fallen off measurably with the near-collapse of the banking and loan industry, making this profession evermore scarce and extremely competitive.

Not knowing your situtation, let's assume you have no job, and heard that this was a quick and easy way to earn a living:

1. Take advantage of Spring and create instant income by whipping up some simple posters, then place them around your local neighborhood grocery/hardware/etc. store bulletin boards - babysit, mow lawns, spiff up gardens, walk dogs, run errands for the elderly, clean homes and small offices - anything that generates a daily cash-flow. For a lucrative physical job to get you through the Summer, take the State's Traffic Control/Flagging course and once certified, apply to flagging, paving, sand and gravel companies for good summer work - companies that work on federal roadwork pay Davis-Bacon with benefits and retirement.

2. After putting in a good day's work, come back here and take the advice of the old pros who have taught on this board for years, they will guide you to the resources here. Read, and read, and read, and take organized notes until you can't read another word.