name on loan docs for spouse does not match her ca id
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to April, 2010 Index

Posted by Camellia Preciado on 4/8/10 9:36pm
Msg #330873

Hi I am a new signing agent ,and my first signing will be tomorrow,
I would really appreciate some feed back,I am so nervouse and cant seem to find this info in my hand book.

So I have contacted the borrows to confirm the appointment for tomorrow,the husband tells me that his wife name on ID is(for example)"John Doe Lee Doe"(she has two middle names) and the loan docs that they received from the lender are "John Doe Doe" they are missing one of her middle names .
Do these docs need to be changed by the lender to show both middle names?

please advise if her id can even be considerd as satisfactory identification to proceed with the signing.

Thanks for taking the time to help me.

Reply by John/CT on 4/8/10 9:44pm
Msg #330874

Follow instructions in your handbook. But ...

the general rule followed by most (if not all) is more (names) on the ID is OK, less is not OK. In your case, it would be OK, as long as she signs EXACTLY as her name is printed on the dox.

Reply by JanetK_CA on 4/8/10 11:45pm
Msg #330889

I agree with John. They will have the documents drawn up in whatever name they used to buy the property originally, unless they have recorded something to change it since. They can't just arbitrarily redraw docs in another name. And it's very common for people to not necessarily use their full name -- whether it's loan docs or any other kind of document you might find yourself notarizing. You just want to make sure that there isn't any part of their name on the document that IS NOT on their ID. They seldom match exactly.