Notary Rotary
New Notary Signing Agent
Notary Discussion History

New Notary Signing Agent
Go Back to March, 2011 Index

Posted by Otero on 3/26/11 8:48am
Msg #377563

New Notary Signing Agent

I am just getting started as a signing agent and I have received several notary applications and agreements from various companies so they can keep my info in their records. I am not sure what the standard fees are for the different documents, i.e., purchase closings, non-purchase closings, simultaneous 1st & 2nd closing, trip fee/cancellation fee, etc. Would someone be so kind as to inform me of such and any other details that I should keep in mind. Thank you.
Also, I received a call from a company in Florida whom I had never spoken with and asked me if I could do a job for them on very short notice. What advice can someone give me on handling this sort of request. Thanks.

Reply by aanotary on 3/26/11 10:46am
Msg #377567

Everyone here is going to tell you to decide on your own fees. As far as the Fla. Company. Look them up here on signing central & if they have a positive rating , you should most definitely take the order. You need experience & you need to be flexible if you want to make it in this business.

Reply by Otero on 3/26/11 12:30pm
Msg #377576

Thanks everyone for the advice.

Reply by jba/fl on 3/26/11 11:14am
Msg #377571

Try not to go under $100 or you will be labeled a "low-baller". There are exceptions, but not many. JMHO

Reply by Matham on 3/26/11 11:43am
Msg #377573

I was just going to ask this question. I am applying for a company that wants to know what my purchase closing, non-purchase closing and simultaneous 1st and 2nd closing fees are, but I don't understand the terms, so a little clarity on what these terms mean would go a long way.

Reply by jba/fl on 3/26/11 4:15pm
Msg #377588