Notary Rotary
Closing Fees Listed on the HUD
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to January, 2012 Index

Posted by Gilda Murray on 1/24/12 9:40pm
Msg #409787

Hello Fellow Notaries. I don't post much but I read all comments daily and really enjoy them. I obtain a great source of knowledge and excellent ideas. I am posting today because my last three signings the borrower was required to pay x amount of dollars and was not informed by the lender. Of course when I tell them I need to pick up the check to send back with the package, I am getting verbally bashed asking questions as to why weren't they told before hand which I totally agree. I've been a notary agent for 7 years and it rarely happened but lately it is getting consistent. Are any of you encountering this problem? Appreciate your comments and suggestions.

Reply by Doris_CO on 1/24/12 10:04pm
Msg #409792

If I see on the HUD that the borrower has to bring money to the table, I call the borrower to make sure they're aware of that. I don't tell them the amount, but let them tell me, if they know. If they didn't know they had to bring money to the table I recommend they call their loan officer. Loan signings have been cancelled because the LO didn't keep the borrower informed and I'd rather it happen before I walk out my door.

Reply by Gilda Murray on 1/24/12 10:31pm
Msg #409799

This is soooooooo true Doris. One of the signings I had last week actually cancelled at the signing table. Not to mention I had downloaded both set of docs 220 pages totaled. Traveled 30 miles, plus docs were late as usual which caused a slight delay but the guy was understanding at that point until I told him about the check requested. He went ooofffffff.
Called his loan officer and told him what he could do with the loan. Good Advice which I knew from all that responded so far I would get. Thanks Smile

Reply by NJDiva on 1/24/12 10:40pm
Msg #409802

Dito Gilda, Dito Doris, Dito GG!!