Notary Rotary
Wrong 1099 sent?
Notary Discussion History

Wrong 1099 sent?
Go Back to January, 2012 Index

Posted by Linda_H/FL on 1/14/12 9:53am
Msg #409026

Wrong 1099 sent?

I just got an e-mail from a company - and if I'm reading it correctly, all their contractors got it - that they sent the wrong 1099 out -

They sent 1099's to all their contractors regardless of amount paid (no biggie) BUT they sent out a 1099B instead of a 1099Misc. They say not to be concerned - when they send their 1096 in at end of February it will be reported as miscellaneous income. They claim most of their contractors are happy with this.

Now, I'm not a tax expert, but is this not a problem? Should this company not be sending out corrective 1099's? The 1099B is for Broker and Barter Exchanges - isn't this looked on differently by the IRS? When 1099's go out, duplicates are filed with the IRS - the IRS gets a copy of the 1099 sent to the contractor - won't the IRS be looking for this to be reported properly??

I know if it were me I'd not be satisfied and I'd be requesting a new 1099 from them. It's Miscellaneous income, not Broker and Barter exchange.

BTW, this doesn't affect me - I didn't do any closings for them in 2011, but the whole subject is just interesting to me and I'd like to hear about it.

Look forward to hearing from some of the tax people here.

Reply by MW/VA on 1/14/12 9:57am
Msg #409027

I got that same 1099B, Linda. I asked about it, and was told it was ok and is still being reported as Misc. Income in Box 7. I don't think so & don't think it's going to fly. Maybe if enough people make an issue of it they will send corrrected forms. This ss is one of my favs, and this is very unusual for them.

Reply by Linda_H/FL on 1/14/12 10:22am
Msg #409029

I'm not knocking the company....mistakes happen