Notary Rotary
Opinion on POA Situation
Notary Discussion History

Opinion on POA Situation
Go Back to February, 2005 Index

Posted by Lisa/Wi on 2/19/05 6:16am
Msg #21335

Opinion on POA Situation

This situation involves my boss, the buyer of one of our listings(another realtors customer), and me. (I am not a Realtor) The buyer needs a POA to get the loan papers signed, and I offered to do it. My boss said "I dont want the liability" If I am an independent contractor as a notary with my own E&O, what liability would she have in this situation? She didnt want to explain to me why exactly I couldnt do this. Any opinions would be wonderful, especially from Realtors.

Reply by Anonymous on 2/19/05 9:16am
Msg #21338

I'm afraid this won't help directly but in CA Notaries personally own their commission, notary seal and bond regardless of who paid for them. Notaries who are employees may still notarize documents for the public outside of their employment hours. In fact in CA if someone is an independent notary must notarize a document for anyone who properly requests their services, is able to present proper ID and is willing to pay.
Your state may be different but I don't see how your boss could be held liable.
Just my opinion and I'm sure you will get an answer from someone who knows your state law.

Reply by Dave_CA on 2/19/05 9:20am
Msg #21341

I did not intend my previous post to be Anonymous... My fingers must have gotten ahead of my morning coffee curve. :-)

Reply by Bobbi in CT on 2/19/05 9:26am
Msg #21343

Deep Pockets theory ...