Notary Rotary
Sign on the X (problem)
Notary Discussion History

Sign on the X (problem)
Go Back to February, 2005 Index

Posted by Mary -Florida on 2/18/05 10:15am
Msg #21161

Sign on the X (problem)

I did a closing for Sign on the X two weeks ago, The Lender was Lending Tree out of Jacksonville. Sign on the X told me I wouldn't be paid for about 4 months, I ask for thier supervisor
(Amy) she was really rude and unprofessional . Also blamed everything on Lending Tree, Stating that the office in Jacksonville is so screwed up right now. I am already in the process of putting a lean on the borrowers home, well I guess Sign on the X and Lending
Tree will have a big problem on their hands.
I have never heard of a signing company bad mouth a title company the way they did
I have been a certified agent for over 10 years and will never do business with this company agian.

Reply by Art_MD on 2/18/05 10:23am
Msg #21164

If you think you can lien the house due to an action of sign on the x - good luck. You have no contractual relationship with the borrower and they owe you nothing. You did no work for them and they owe you nothing. It is difficult to understand how you can lien with no basis.

Art

Reply by Roger/OH on 2/18/05 10:42am
Msg #21167

Agree with Art. Your contract is not with the borrowers, it's with the ss, and the borrowers have no control or relationship with them.

Sign on the X has a long history of poor payment, with numerous comments on this and other boards. A simple search could have saved you much grief.

Reply by PAW_Fl on 2/18/05 10:48am
Msg #21168

As I understand it, in Florida, even if the notary had an agreement for payment by the borrowers, a lien against the property cannot be filed anyway. Liens against property (other than for taxes or mortgages) by a sub-contractor can only be applied if there is physical improvements or work done on the property that increases its value. Service contracts do not qualify.