Notary Rotary
Charging Borrwer vs. Title Co.
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to July, 2005 Index

Posted by SDgirl on 7/27/05 3:49pm
Msg #55151

Borrowers contacted me, they have the docs and want to sign Saturday. They said they will pay me directly for my services. I was wondering what other charge in this situation. Standard signing fee or $10 per signature plus traveling fee?

I have been doing this in CA for 2 years and have only encountered this 3 other times in which I told the customer I would bill the title co directly but on the last one I never got paid because TC said borrower never went through with loan and I dont want that to happen again!

Thanks in advance for your advice!

Reply by TitleGalCA on 7/27/05 3:55pm
Msg #55154

I'm wondering who hired you - if the SS did, they might be a bit annoyed (to say the least) but if it was the TC, no skin off their nose. Sounds like a great arrangement to me.

Reply by SDgirl on 7/27/05 3:59pm
Msg #55158

I am sorry maybe I did not explain the question correctly... The borrowers contacted me! They have the loan docs and want to sign Saturday. They want to pay out of pocket. I was wondering if other charge their standard fee OR $10 per signature + traveling fee?

Reply by TitleGalCA on 7/27/05 4:04pm
Msg #55160

For me, my time and value is my standard fee plus any traveling fee (same as I would charge on any other job). If these are friends of yours then that's up to you, but if it were a call based on your advertising why would this job be any different?

I did a freebie for a co-worker and regreted it later as the SS charged him $250, and he didn't get any of that credited back to him. SS kept the fee.

Reply by TitleGalCA on 7/27/05 4:14pm
Msg #55166

I get it...