Notary Rotary
Thinking of becoming a notary.
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to July, 2005 Index

Posted by Michelle on 7/28/05 4:01pm
Msg #55396

Hello, I live in the San Diego area and I'm thinking of taking the course/test. What is an average baseline income - $25k a year and more?

Reply by CarolynCO on 7/28/05 4:04pm
Msg #55398

Is it the radio commercials or the NNA you've been listening to when it comes to baseline income?

Reply by SL/CA on 7/28/05 4:14pm
Msg #55402

Well, Ca is verysaturated.... Well I have been doing closings since Nov 2004, and I have made approx. $ 3,000.00 that is in 8 months.. The NNA makes it sound like a get rich quick thing. In my area, I have 450 notaries in a 25 mile radius. That makes it very difficult to find work, it can be done don't get me wrong, but in these saturated areas, you really have to market yourself like crazy. Good luck, and just know that this is not easy work,.. it can be very enjoyable, ... I LOVE IT !!! .. But don't go quiting your day job right away... and Hey I could be wrong, some out there sound like they are keeping very busy, so you just never know. Again good luck. Smiley

Reply by Margaret/Florida on 7/28/05 4:30pm
Msg #55405

I read an article this week that Florida has more notaries than CA.
My area has become saturated and I have had to do inspections
which is steady and not tied to the interest rate.

Reply by Michelle on 7/28/05 7:32pm
Msg #55450

Thank you. I'm a medical transcriptionist, and I'll not let that go in favor of being an notary, but I every new chance at income brings possibilities!

Reply by Sam I am in CA on 7/30/05 10:58am
Msg #55874

Re: Thinking of becoming a transcriptionist

Michelle - I was just offered a chance to do some transcription work. They are providing me with the software and foot pedal. It is just straight interviews - no medical jargon, etc. I have been told it takes about 5 hours to transcribe one hour's worth of talking.
Does this sound right to you?