Notary Rotary
Cutting Fees/My response to LSI
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to September, 2006 Index

Posted by Philip Pullum on 9/11/06 10:49am
Msg #145106

Our fees are structured so that we can make a small profit and still be fair and equitable with all parties concerned.

I am a full time signing agent. I have been involved with mortgage lending for nearly 20 years. I have owned my signing service for 4 years along with my brother who is a business partner in the service. I do not use someone else's printer, toner, copy paper, computer, car, gas, time, ect. to perform my service. I, as a self-employed professional, have to supply these items in order to complete your work order, unlike the "cheap newbies" in the industry I cannot rely on my bosses or companies resources so I can make a "quick extra buck" at their expense.

In fact it costs on average 4.3 cents per page to meet overhead. At approximately 100 pages per loan package that comes to $43.00 per loan set before I can make a profit. Then I have to make a package for the borrower, add another $43.00 to the equation. Now, before I can make a living I have to outlay $86.00 for an email package. Now calculate, an average loan signing takes nearly 1 hour to complete and approximately 30 minutes on average of 1 way drive time to make it to the appointment, then an additional 20 minutes of post closing processing( fax backs, audit, package prep). I now have 2 hours and 20 minutes of time invested in the loan and $86.00 of capital outlay. At my standard fee of $125.00 per email package I have a profit margin of $ 39 dollars per deal. Broken down, that comes to about $16.00 dollars an hour or $33,000.00 a year if working 40 hours.( Of course you and I both know that it is unlikely I am doing 8 hours of closings 5 days a week on a consistent bais. Well, that falls way short of the marketing adds and courses from signing services and the associations that say you can make 100K part time!)