Notary Rotary
What to do if it is an owner occupacy loan and they don't
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to September, 2006 Index

Posted by Diana Gall on 9/14/06 5:45pm
Msg #146167

occupy the house. They live somewhere else and rent that home to someone. What would you do? Have you had this happen. I just turned down a closing because I thought this was the case. I couldn't pull up the loan docs to be sure. I don't like making companies mad at me, but I used to be an agent and I know more about the real estate laws than most notary's. I don't want to get in to trouble over $100. What about you guys?
Thanks,
Diana

Reply by Merry_CA on 9/14/06 6:13pm
Msg #146178

It is the notary public's job to properly ID the signer(s) and be an impartial witness to the signing. That is all. Take off your real estate hat, it will cause you grief and possibly get you in trouble if you try to second guess why a loan is proceeding the way it is. Don't assume anything. If you suspect that a fraud is being committed call the TC.

Reply by Charles_Ca on 9/14/06 6:17pm
Msg #146179

Exactly Merry, I don't see how you could get into trouble

if the borrowers lied, all you are doing is stating that the borrower signed the document, they own the lie. Good luck!

Reply by Diana Gall on 9/14/06 6:20pm
Msg #146182

Re: Exactly Merry, I don't see how you could get into trouble

That is what I was wondering. I still want to know 100%. Can anyone tell me who I need to contact?
Thanks,
Diana Gall

Reply by Charles_Ca on 9/14/06 6:32pm
Msg #146184

Talk to your own attorney, but even he will tell you

it's his opinion, I have no idea how you will ever know 100%: laws are constantly subject to interpretation. I think at some point in time common sense has to come into play.

Reply by Diana Gall on 9/14/06 6:58pm
Msg #146190

Re: Talk to your own attorney, but even he will tell you

I guess your right. Common sense tells me I shouldn't notarize a lie. Thanks for your input.
Diana