Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
in my register..how do I break down the fees?
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to September, 2006 Index

Posted by MasterCloser on 9/15/06 5:50pm
Msg #146429

Call me silly for asking (it is Friday) but how do I break down the fees in my register?
What parts are taxable? All? Lets say I perform 4 notarizations [e-mail address] per=$20.00
I get $150 for the "job". What should I do to keep track?
Thanks to all my esteemed colleagues.
Eric J. Stenersen, NP,CNSA

Reply by Teresa/FL on 9/15/06 5:59pm
Msg #146431

Here's how I keep track:
$150 is gross taxable income
$20 is exempt from SE tax

When you do your taxes, you will show your gross income minus any deductions/exemptions and that is your net taxable income for Federal Income Tax purposes.

To calculate your SE (Self-Employment) Tax, you substract the total earned from notarizations from your net taxable income.

I use Turbo Tax and it walks you through it. I am not a tax professional, so you will probably want to speak to an accountant. Just make sure the accountant knows what portion of your income is derived from notary fees and can be excluded for SE tax computations.

Reply by Joan Bergstrom on 9/15/06 11:20pm
Msg #146461

One suggestion.
When you bring your tax information to your tax person; tell this person that Ack & Jurats are exempt from Federal Self Employment Taxes. Most people In the US understand Self Employment taxes as Social Security taxes but if your self employed (most notaries are self employed) you are now dealing with Federal Self Employment Taxes.

I don't think many tax preparers have any idea that the fees we are paid for Ack & Jurats are exempt because very few citizens are exempt from Self Employment Taxes (Social Security).

Military and Congress/Senators are just a few that I can think of that are exempt and I am sure there are a few others.