Notary Discussion History

Interesting article about E&O coverage
Go Back to April, 2007 Index

Posted by BetsyMI on 4/16/07 9:26am
Msg #185411

Interesting article about E&O coverage

Take a look at this article about understanding E&O coverage:

http://blog.sourceoftitle.com/index.php?cat=22

It also talks about 'tail coverage' for the five years after you leave the business but when you may need it most!

Reply by Stamper_WI on 4/16/07 9:59am
Msg #185418

"tail" coverage

I learned by example about tail coverage when I was a realtor. My old broker retired and did not get that. He was sued for non diclosure of lead base paint on a deal done by one of his agents.( She did not have the buyers sign a LBP disclosure). This had major repurcussions on the buyers small children who all had high levels of lead detected in their systems and the accompnaying ailments.
When I left real estate I bought that coverage. It cost me a lot but the peace of mind is worth it.

Reply by Sharon Taylor on 4/16/07 11:21am
Msg #185431

Thanks for the link, Betsy

I hadn't really thought much about the need to continue E&O coverage after retiring or leaving this line of work, and I certainly did not know it would not cover the final year of work once you let it lapse or cancel it. I don't intend to retire or quit anytime soon, but now I know I need to keep my coverage going for a few years after that happens. Great information!

Reply by NCLisa on 4/16/07 11:41am
Msg #185435

Abstractors have a completely different kind of E&O

insurance. It is liability insurance, and the cost starts at $2200 a year. The amount of coverage is usually $500,000 to $1,000,000.

Reply by Dennis D Broadbooks on 4/16/07 11:45am
Msg #185437

This is Misleading...