Notary Rotary
Borrower calling for second copy of loan docs after 2 years
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to October, 2007 Index

Posted by Alice Jones on 10/17/07 11:19am
Msg #216921

I had a borrower of a loan I closed over 2 years ago , called me , asking me if I had a copy of the loan package I had him sign. I told him I delete all loans docs as soon as they are signed. I told him why. He said he did not understand what he had signed and now his mortgage is up to $5,000 a month. I explained my roll in loan signing process, as an independant contractor. He also said that the loan had been sold many times since signing. I told him that I am not a lawyer and can't offer my advice. He was very polite and understanding. What is your feed-back.

Reply by Phillip/TX on 10/17/07 11:22am
Msg #216924

He received a copy of his docs when you closed him 2 years ago... what did he do with them? He can get a copy of the documents from the original lender, they have to keep them.

Reply by Phillip/TX on 10/17/07 11:41am
Msg #216929

Or he could get a copy from the original title company, as they will have them too, but might be on microfish by now.

Reply by CaliNotary on 10/17/07 11:57am
Msg #216930

Re: Borrower calling for second copy of loan docs after 2 ye

You really need feedback on this one? Of course we wouldn't have copies 2 years after the signing.

Reply by Hugh Nations Signing Agents of Austin on 10/17/07 12:09pm
Msg #216935

After a closing, I always suggest to the borrowers that within the next 30 days they request a copy of their appraisal and their survey (if they haven't been provided) and a fully executed file-stamped copy of the document package. They are always quite receptive and appreciative of the suggestion.

Reply by MichiganAl on 10/17/07 12:51pm
Msg #216939

My feedback is u stay out of it. Tell him to call his lender n/m

Reply by Julie/MI on 10/17/07 1:48pm
Msg #216950

I hate to say I told you so....