Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
Borrower calls and wants an Attorney instead of me....
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to October, 2007 Index

Posted by laurielnc on 10/2/07 11:50am
Msg #214235

Does this happen very often and is there anyway to stop it from happening in what I say to the borrowers? When I called to confirm signing they were fine with me but 2 minutes later the signing company calls and cancels and explains that borrowers want an attorney. I've been doing signings for almost 2 years and sometimes they are shocked that I'm not an attorney but go through or take their papers to an attorney afterwards (before 3 days are up). Just wondering, in these slow times every closing that flys helps.

Reply by Phillip/TX on 10/2/07 12:13pm
Msg #214242

I have never had them request an attorney. BUT I have had to tell the signing company that an attorney is required. Texas has a law that if you are getting money out of your refi that it must be closed in an attorney office or title company. I have been able to get the borrowers to go to a title company before, but no such luck with an attorney's office, as they want to do the closing!

Don't take it as a negative to you Laurie, in these times, with the number of ruthless companies out there, we may all see more of that... where the borrower asks for an attorney. But they can be guaranteed that their fee for that request will be in a much higher ballpark than us as a notary would be.

Let's hope that October is a much better month than September was.

Reply by SShoreDude on 10/2/07 12:14pm
Msg #214244

I know, this kind of thing really stinks. Dont worry about it though. I am an attorney and a borrower requeted an attorney one time and the title company just switched it to another attorney and didnt even bother checking with me to see if i was one.

Huh.

Reply by Roger Proctor Sr on 10/2/07 2:11pm
Msg #214284