New to the Biz
Notary Discussion History

New to the Biz
Go Back to June, 2008 Index

Posted by Cyndi Rodriguez on 6/19/08 9:29am
Msg #251990

New to the Biz

Good Morning!

I am new in the industry and I need to work. I realize I should attend a loan signing agent class. Does anyone know of a good place to take this class? I live in the inland Empire area and with cost of gas these days...Also once I attend this LS class do I just contact loan signing companies? Is there any business possiblilities for me in the meantime?
Thank you in advance Smile

Reply by Loretta on 6/19/08 9:40am
Msg #251995

I wish you the best of luck, Cyndi. First thing you need to do is use the "find a notary" button and type in your zip code. This will give you a list of how many notaries are in your area and what your competition is. This is the absolute wrong time to get in the business. I never took a signing agent class but I am sure that you can find a ton of them in California because they want to take your money.

You have to sign up with every title company you can find. This business is so bad that no one will tell you who to call and what to say. Depending on the list of ntoaries in your area, if you get one closing a month, you will be lucky.

Reply by Loretta on 6/19/08 9:44am
Msg #251996

In the 91730 zip code alone, there are about 60 notaries within 10 miles. Oh My!

Reply by ZeeCA on 6/19/08 9:57am
Msg #252002

According to j. bergstrom Msg #251758 there is a shortage

of notaries in the great state of Calif and it is only going to get worse.

I strongly disagree. I am the first to admit if I am wrong so would be very interested in hearing from fellow CALIF notaries that due to the lack of notaries in Calif that you are working so much and turning down work?

thx all

Reply by Loretta on 6/19/08 10:13am
Msg #252004

Re: According to j. bergstrom Msg #251758 there is a shortage