Notary Rotary
Provident E & O requirements
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to February, 2009 Index

Posted by Jason Adams on 2/24/09 2:32pm
Msg #278580

I'm a signing agent here in California and have been turning down several Provident signings because I work independently and have only the 100k e&o insurance through NNA. My understanding is that I can either work under a SS who has a 500k policy or possibly acquire a professional liability policy as an individual. I would prefer the latter. My question is, has anyone had any problem with Provident accepting professional liability vs the standard E & O from an individual, independent notary and also does anyone know of a reputable insurance company that writes these policies (preferably one that has been previously accepted by Provident). Any help is graciously accepted. Thanks

Jason V. Adams

Reply by Steven Pearce on 2/24/09 2:36pm
Msg #278581

Posted by Jason Adams of AK on 2/24/09 2:32pm ... AK or CA?

Reply by Jason Adams on 2/24/09 2:49pm
Msg #278586

oops sorry, california. San Diego more specifically.

Reply by Les_CO on 2/24/09 3:15pm
Msg #278596

Re: Provident E & O requirements n/m

Reply by Les_CO on 2/24/09 3:16pm
Msg #278597

Whoops!
What Provident wants is liability insurance not just E&O. They will ask for a copy of your policy before ‘approving’ you. Travelers, as well as State Farm sell this type of insurance, you just have to find a knowledgeable agent. This has been discussed many times here..

Reply by Jason Adams on 2/24/09 3:55pm
Msg #278607

Thanks for the response Les.

Reply by dickb/wi on 2/24/09 3:06pm
Msg #278593

there is a difference between profesional liability.......