Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
Becoming a Signing Agency or referral source?
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to January, 2009 Index

Posted by Allison_MI on 1/8/09 3:01pm
Msg #273870

Ok, here is the deal.
I have been working for over 4 months with this company. They have been giving me steady work (about the only company that is). Any how. They asked me if I knew other notaries in other states I said they could go on notaryrotary.com and find them. Well she asked me could I find the notaries and them she would send me the package (emailed) and I could contract with the notary in the other state. She does not want to have a lot of 1099 to send out at the end of the year. Why? I didn't ask.

Any how, has anyone been in this situation. How would this work out. I am not a signing agency only a signing agent. I have been for almost 5 years. I would like to farm out the work to other notaries in other states but not sure where to begin, Or how.....any insight is appreciated.

Private message me if you have any ideas. If I go forward with this I will need some notaries.

Any advice appreciated.
Allison

Reply by Ilene C. Seidel on 1/8/09 3:13pm
Msg #273873

Sounds great, I'm not sure what is required. I've spoken to an owner of signing agency she stated they carry 1mil E&O insurance. I guess as long as they don't close their doors in the middle of the night and leave without paying you, great. You might want to check your state if you need a business license and I would definitely incorporate so the liability is on the business not you personally. You need a good accountant that can go over the details.
Just remember good or bad closing agent your responsibile for the great jobs and screw ups. You need to think about the headaches and of course the bottom line on the P & L.
Good Luck.

Reply by Doris_CO on 1/8/09 3:43pm
Msg #273877