Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
WWYD? ---POA for client w/mild dementia diagnosis...
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to January, 2009 Index

Posted by MrEd_Ca on 1/14/09 9:44am
Msg #274438

I recently turned down a request to notarize a Power of Attorney document for an 89 year old woman who had been diagnosed with mild dementia. The request was made by her daughter who lived on the east coast.

I was ok with all of the arraignments until the daughter mentioned, when questioned about mental state, the diagnoses of mild dementia, made by a medical doctor. At that point I back-pedaled & told her I didn't think I could do that... that while I am not a doctor or attorney the phrase 'mild dementia' translates, to me, into reduced capacity to understand what is being signed & the power of the document. I declined the job on that basis & closed by saying 'that other notaries my disagree, & there are certainly a lot of them in the phone book here, for me the issue is reduced capacity to understand/comprehend the document and that I could not be reasonably sure the signer (the 89yr old) would be able to understand/comprehend because of that diagnosis' .

The daughter maintained that her mother was aware of the document & of what she would be signing. The daughter was not very happy with my decision & wanted to know what laws said that & that sort of stuff. The conversation became somewhat difficult at that point. I don't think I said, but should have, that the situation seemed to call for an attorney &/or a conservatorship to protect the 89yr old.