Notary Rotary
Illinois Notaries
Notary Discussion History

Illinois Notaries
Go Back to March, 2009 Index

Posted by Kay/IL on 3/30/09 9:17pm
Msg #282768

Illinois Notaries

What's a suggested fair price to charge for your notary signing service? I've been a part-time signing agent for about 5 1/2 years. It seems I'm on speed dial for the low paying signing companies since that's how I started out. However, since this surge in refinancing, many other companies have been calling me for closing starting anywhere from $90.00 to as much as $175.00. I've done these closings and received excellent reviews so I want to not only do more work for them but make sure I'm being paid a fair price.

So what is a fair standard rate for an Illinois signing agent?

Reply by oldhippie_IL on 3/30/09 9:34pm
Msg #282772

Kay, where are you located?

Reply by Kay/IL on 3/30/09 10:01pm
Msg #282773

I'm in Cook County, Illinois but also serve DuPage and Will Counties.

Reply by Cari on 3/31/09 3:29pm
Msg #282879

DON'T DO WORK FOR LESS THAN $125!!

check you pm

Reply by BrendaTx on 3/31/09 4:08pm
Msg #282880

I would not say that, Cari.

As I told the Dept. of Justice agent when she called me about possible price-fixing..."If experienced notaries see that kind of statement in the notary community online we tell the poster that it's considered price fixing, it's illegal and the DOJ doesn't take it lightly."

Reply by MistarellaFL on 3/31/09 4:21pm
Msg #282883

Too many variables to make that statement

I don't know how someone can pick a certain fee out of the air....there are so many variables
in requests, therefore (at least in my world) many variables in fees.
Real estate, purchases (one or both sides), refinances, HELOCs (which include HECMs), vehicle lease or purchases, amt. of travel, printing or not, etc etc etc.
That is not to mention that geographic location and competition sometime cause varying fees.

Fees are not one size fits all.

Reply by Linda_H/FL on 3/31/09 4:40pm