Notary Rotary
Power of Attorney re-fi
Notary Discussion History

Power of Attorney re-fi
Go Back to March, 2009 Index

Posted by Barbara___IL on 3/24/09 11:58am
Msg #281955

Power of Attorney re-fi

I've never done a re-fi that used a POA before. It's a last minute signing which makes me wonder. They need the docs back tomorrow, because they say it has to be recorded tomorrow. Does anyone see any red lights? Thanks. B.

Reply by Yowheelz on 3/24/09 12:05pm
Msg #281957

It's probably a investment home or purchase that does not have a 3 day recission. They probably meant to say that it needed to fund the next day.

Reply by Barbara___IL on 3/24/09 12:17pm
Msg #281959

Thank you. I hope that's it. I am not sure how to handle the POA. Someone told me they don't even need to show me a certificate, but that doesn't make sense.

Reply by Lee/AR on 3/24/09 12:22pm
Msg #281960

The Lender has seen (possibly even drafted) the POA and is happy, so, no, you don't have to see it. Just be sure it's signed exactly as typed. A notary is not expected to 'upl interpret' whether or not said POA is 'legal'.

Reply by Barbara___IL on 3/24/09 12:33pm
Msg #281962

That sounds good to me, so whatever is typed under the document signature line is what she should sign. As long as I am sure, she is who she says she is, then, I'll be OK, right? Thanks so much. Barbara

Reply by CopperheadVA on 3/24/09 12:58pm
Msg #281966

When I've done POA signings, the wording is usually not typed on the signature lines. I always e-mail the TC asking exactly how they want it signed, as there are several different ways. I also ask for how they want it initialed.

Then I print it out, hi-lite it with a hi-lite pen and have it on the table as a reference for the borrower to use during the signing. This accomplishes two things:

1) You as the notary are not on the hook for doing it wrong

2) Gives the borrower a reference to use

When completing the notary block, my state of VA has me do the following: