Notary Rotary
jurat with affiant statement
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to March, 2009 Index

Posted by Carol Graff on 3/12/09 3:50pm
Msg #280507

Hi, I'm new at this and am copying some forms off of my CD. What is the above form used for?
thanks!

Reply by Sylvia_FL on 3/12/09 4:49pm
Msg #280514

Carol
I strongly recommend you read your California handbook - it is available online. This is Notary101.

Reply by Carol Graff on 3/12/09 10:15pm
Msg #280535

Sylvia, I have read my handbook, many times, and nowhere is the Jurat with Affiant Statement mentioned. Jurat yes, but not this other form. I am not sure why you would use this form. Can anyone help me on this, please?

Reply by Lee/AR on 3/12/09 10:49pm
Msg #280537

It is used mostly (I'd almost say exclusively--but what do I know) by an attorney and will be drafted by one. Notaries don't do this. All you need to do is complete the jurat below whatever the lawyer has drafted that the signer wants or needs to 'state' or 'affirm'.

Reply by Carol Graff on 3/12/09 10:51pm
Msg #280538

thanks, lee. Appreciate the info.

Reply by Tess on 3/12/09 10:58pm
Msg #280541

Re: Before asking a question, please use Google!

Sylvia is right, notary 101. You should know what a affiant statement is !!!

Reply by Joan Bergstrom on 3/12/09 11:16pm
Msg #280543

The Jurat with Affiant Statement is not in CA Handbook

Jurat With Affiant Statement

I(We)_______________________________________________________________ with my
(our) signatures, herewith swear or affirm that the following statement is true to the best of my (our) knowledge.

Initial each line completed

___ ____ 1.________________________________________________

___ _____ 2.________________________________________________

and it goes on to number 10

Signature of affiant_______________Date signed
Signature of affiant_______________Date signed

The rest of it is 2008 CA Jurat Certificate verbiage

Reply by MistarellaFL on 3/13/09 7:54am
Msg #280557