Notary Rotary
O/T - For those in Florida trying to renew their D/Ls
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to January, 2011 Index

Posted by FlaNotary2 on 1/6/11 2:13pm
Msg #367352

As most on here know, I am a family law paralegal, and lately, with the enforcement of the Real ID Act in Florida and many other states, I have been getting a lot of calls about the following issue:

"My birth certificate from (1925) has the wrong name on it and the DMV won't accept it to renew my driver license, even though my current DL has the correct name and I've used that name on everything else, including my social security card".

They tend to call us up because they want to initate formal name change proceedings.

Having changed my name when I was 16, I consider myself an expert on name changes in Florida. And with the name change filing fee being set at $400+, it is not worth it to correct clerical errors on a birth certificate.

So, what to do? HERE IS YOUR ANSWER ...... get a passport!

The passport office will use the name on your current driver license. The name on your driver license will be the one used on your passport.

For example... John David Doe has been known as John David Doe his whole life. His D/L and social security card both say John David Doe. But, his birth certificate says David Jonathan Doe. Using these three items, Mr. Doe can apply for, and receive, a passport in the name of John David Doe. The passport office relies on the birth certificate to prove date and place of birth but does not rely upon it for names. That is why married women do not need to produce their marriage certificate when applying for a passport.... the passport office will accept the birth certificate as proof of DOB and POB, and will use the *Driver License* and *Social Security Card* as proof of identity and name.