Notary Rotary
Getting the Assignment
Notary Discussion History

Getting the Assignment
Go Back to July, 2011 Index

Posted by HouTexJoe on 7/15/11 7:03am
Msg #389757

Getting the Assignment

I'm new to the mobile notary game. I read with interest the postings here and learn a lot from them. I have a bit of a dilemma though when it comes to fees. Recently I have had 2 calls where I felt the fee offered was extremely low, less than $100 for re-fi's with edocs, etc. I tried to negotiate a higher fee and was told something like, "I'll see if I can get it approved and call you back." Needless to say, no callback. I read that seasoned MN's say stick to your guns and when newbies accept low fees it hurts everyone, etc. I agree and I certainly do not want to undermine that, but trying to negotiate a higher fee has cost me 2 assignments at a time when I am trying to build a business. I'm interested to hear comments on this and perhaps some negotiating strategies that will allow me to get a fair fee AND the assignment.

Reply by Ilene C. Seidel on 7/15/11 7:17am
Msg #389759

I can understand your dilemma. Understand if you accept such a low fees you will not be making a decent profit to make it worth while to do the closing. If you haven't already done so go to SC and market yourself it's a constant job.

Reply by Notarysigner on 7/15/11 8:09am
Msg #389762

You will have to fight that battle everyday IMO. One thing you can do is check out how many notaries are in your area, that would be your competition and determine the likelihood of you're being able to negotiate a higher fee. Remember not just the notaries listed here on find a notary. It is easy of course if your business plan calls for a certain fee, then stick to it. If it's not working for you, make some adjustment until it does. 'cause I need the money, will never work in the long run, besides, you always need the money until they turn rocks into money.

Reply by MW/VA on 7/15/11 8:13am
Msg #389764