Are we allowed to take tips if we are contracted by the sign n/m
Go Back to August, 2012 Index

Posted by Elizabeth Rinert on 8/1/12 11:28pm
Msg #429060

Are we allowed to take tips if we are contracted by the sign n/m

Reply by Elizabeth Rinert on 8/1/12 11:29pm
Msg #429061

Re: Are we allowed to take tips if we are contracted by a

Signing company? I just turned down a pretty large tip because I wasn't sure....

Reply by JanetK_CA on 8/2/12 1:06am
Msg #429066

Re: Are we allowed to take tips if we are contracted by a

Have you signed any contract that prohibits it? I think a tip falls into a different category than payment for services, which should be included in the HUD (but I'm no expert on that). If that's the case, seems to me it should be between you and the borrower. Some people are really appreciative... Wink

Reply by Clem/CA on 8/1/12 11:29pm
Msg #429062

Re: Are we allowed to take tips if we are contracted by the sign

only the sign of the cross

Reply by dutchcloser on 8/2/12 6:47am
Msg #429077

I don't think there is anything wrong with that. In parts of New York it's actually customary to tip closing agents.

Reply by Gina/VA on 8/2/12 7:47am
Msg #429081

I was offered a tip from a business owner upon the completion of a signing a few months ago but declined it only because I didn't know if that would be another amount to report to IRS.

Life has me confused enough, didn't need the extra help.

Reply by Linda_H/FL on 8/2/12 7:53am
Msg #429082

I've taken tips...when they insist..

But I treat it as income and it all gets reported to IRS.

Reply by FlaNotary2 on 8/2/12 1:12pm
Msg #429110

I add the tip to my travel fee n/m

Reply by GOLDGIRL/CA on 8/2/12 1:04pm
Msg #429107

WOW!

<<In parts of New York it's actually customary to tip closing agents.>>

I want to start that tradition where I live!

Reply by MikeC/TX on 8/2/12 4:40pm
Msg #429133

"In parts of New York it's actually customary to tip closing agents."