Notary Rotary
Just getting started.
Notary Discussion History

Just getting started.
Go Back to August, 2012 Index

Posted by James Gamblain on 8/9/12 8:00pm
Msg #429948

Just getting started.

Hey folks, I am just getting started as a mobile notary/signing agent and I have a few questions.
1. What is a standard fee for loan signings? Do I have to accept the amount the signing service offers?
2. What do you charge for mileage. (I've been asking .55 a mile after the first 25 miles)
3.Can/should I charge for additional pages? and if so what is a fair going rate? I just did a signing that turned out to be 139 pages legal size, and am only getting paid 70.00(Thats if they pay me at all, just saw some of the services reviews)
4. What is a good amount of E/O coverage to carry, What is it actually for? and where do I get it?
5. Is it good form to ask the signing service to let me call them right back so I can check their reviews? (Two of the signings I have completed are from companies I have now found to be less then reputable going by their reviews.)
I am sure I will come up with more questions but this will do for a start.
Thanks.

Reply by Sylvia_FL on 8/9/12 8:08pm
Msg #429949

Are you an attorney??
Georgia is an attorney only state. Notaries are not allowed to do loan signings unless they are an attorney.

Reply by James Gamblain on 8/9/12 8:25pm
Msg #429953

No I am not an attorney, And yes I reall am from GA. The young lady that got me started down this road is a paralegal. I am just presenting the loan applications for signing. The only documents that I notarize are the identification affidavits. I have also done one auto title loan in which I presented a check to the borrower. I did a sale closing last night where again the only documents I notarized were the id affidavits.

Reply by lindetteh_PA on 8/9/12 8:31pm
Msg #429955