Notary Rotary
New to Notary business.....general questions
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to August, 2012 Index

Posted by Rhonda Mullins on 8/17/12 2:20pm
Msg #430846

Hello! I am just getting started in the notary signing agent and I feel a little lost. I would love some feedback from you guys about the business in general.

I was told by the lady that did my loan a month ago (that is how I got interested in this field) that she had a LOT of appointments after hours and on weekends. Is that true for most of you? If you only accept jobs for business hours, will you get blacklisted in any way??

I noticed in the forums that a lot of you have been turning down assignments due to client wanting to pay lower fees. If you turn these jobs down....will you get fewer calls for other jobs?

Do you have any recommendations on how I can figure out what to charge? Do I just set a flat fee or should I have a base pay plus mileage, plus printing fees, etc.?

Thank you in advance for any advise you can offer!

Reply by Linda_H/FL on 8/17/12 2:26pm
Msg #430847

Search using keyword "Newbie" & read Msg #33325 n/m

Reply by Rhonda Mullins on 8/17/12 2:40pm
Msg #430851

Re: Search using keyword "Newbie" & read Msg #33325

WOW!! Great information, thank you so much!

Reply by Linda_H/FL on 8/17/12 3:01pm
Msg #430857

Heh..well, if that was a sincere thank you, then you're

welcome

If on the other hand it was sarcastic (which I do believe it was) - all your questions have been asked and answered here over the past years...and 33325 is a great starting reference point. You need to be able to do your own research.

If you don't like those suggestions, then my next best couple would be (a) don't bite the hands that are willing to feed you, even a little bit; and (b) why not ask the one who turned you on to this line of work a month ago??

Good luck to you.

Reply by Rhonda Mullins on 8/17/12 4:12pm
Msg #430860

Re: Heh..well, if that was a sincere thank you, then you're