Notary Rotary
notary exam
Notary Discussion History

notary exam
Go Back to July, 2012 Index

Posted by Carol Graff on 7/28/12 4:10pm
Msg #428469

notary exam

Just took my renewing notary exam--not needed until 2/13 but was told I should do it early, especially in California. I studied quite a bit, but was surpised at some very tricky, obscure ques in there. I'm pretty sure I passed, but just a fair warning to others to study.

Reply by Marian_in_CA on 7/28/12 7:24pm
Msg #428492

I agree, Carol. I took my renewal exam last Saturday and I, too, was surprised at some of the obscure questions. I'm glad I knew the answers... but I could hear others in the room sigh in frustration.... I'm sure they were being tripped up. Last time, the questions were basic, but oddly worded. This time, the questions were well worded, but tricky and obscure. Maybe they're trying to really weed more people out? We can only hope.

Reply by 101livescan on 7/28/12 7:32pm
Msg #428494

I'll be taking exam soon, too. Keep you posted on my personal experience.

Reply by Marian_in_CA on 7/28/12 8:34pm
Msg #428497

Cheryl,

Not sure we're allowed to discuss the exact content of the exam... but I can tell you that you should definitely review some of the lesser discussed aspects. For example (and I don't think this goes too far, and I know the test changes often), I would be sure that you know what happens to your commission and seal if you are convicted of a felony..not just if related to notarial misconduct, but any felony. Definitely a more obscure procedure that I don't even recall being covered in course materials, not in depth anyway. I'll bet the vast majority of CA notaries have no idea how that's handled. The only reason I knew the answer the particular question is because I remember having read it several weeks prior when answering a question for somebody. Normally, I would have just "glossed" over it, primarily because I don't plan on committing any felonies. Smile