Notary Rotary
Closing agents being slowly phased out
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to May, 2013 Index

Posted by Joeycaps on 5/16/13 2:20pm
Msg #470250

I've been a closing agent almost 18 years and have seen the slow changes, eventually agents are gonna be out in Louisiana now some companies are having in house notaries close over the internet and eventually it will become nationwide. When it does the gravy train will end. back in the 90's and early 2000's I was making over 70,000 a year. I was doing 3-5 per day 6 days a week. easy money even with the few headaches, this has been the easiest money I've ever made. But I see the writing on the wall. now Im getting lots of closings where I burn it to a dvd and its great to reduce printing costs but like the signing company said, with a few years closing agents are gonna be history. This is a great self business and I hate to see it fade away.

Reply by GOLDGIRL/CA on 5/16/13 2:55pm
Msg #470252

It's hard to know what's going to happen, but I tend to agree that NSAs will be joining the dinosaurs eventually. However, I don't see how one can notarize over the internet as long as state laws require "personal appearance." Of course, that didn't stop the robosigners. It's also my opinion that many lenders and TCs don't know what the heck notaries do, only that they need them to get a loan signed. I'm surprised they haven't figured out how to do away with us already.