Notary Rotary
Considering Profession
Notary Discussion History

Considering Profession
Go Back to May, 2013 Index

Posted by Sandy Maupin on 5/31/13 1:07pm
Msg #471835

Considering Profession

I have been researching and trying to do my due diligence about what it takes to be a public notary. The education required, the startup cost, projected income, operating expenses but I am still torn on exactly what the right path is. I am hoping I can share the information I have collected so far and professionals here would be willing to give me their input, correct me, or just tell me I’m way off base…

First I am a resident of Washington State. The requirements for my state are:
http://www.dol.wa.gov/business/notary/nrequirements.html
Be at least 18 years of age. Be able to read and write English. Live in Washington State
Or live in Idaho or Oregon while employed regularly in Washington. Have a $10,000
Surety bond from an insurance company or bonding company.

Although it is not required to complete an education course the state has a list of approved education providers. http://www.dol.wa.gov/business/notary/ncourses.html I believe this is where a lot of my confusion started, I researched these sites and was going to go with NNA, but luckily through my research I was lead to Notary Rotary. I have been reading and reading on the board here and from my conclusion people here are not impressed with the educational courses, business practices or information given out by XYZ. So I have been researching other training options, and would appreciate opinions and advice in this area.

• Kathy Poston’s book, Professional Signing Agent Training Manual (which I believe is the book offered here at Notary Rotary) https://www.notaryrotary.com/store/order.asp?ssid=&cat=0&subcat=0&vm=0&fid=110656&ProductID=162&stampstatecd=WA&statecd=**
• Laura Vestanen’s book on developing non-loan business, and she is from WA state. http://www.professionalnotary.com/Marketing_books_Notaries.html