Notary Rotary
Do I really need a laser printer?
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to May, 2013 Index

Posted by Randy Crawford on 5/2/13 10:05pm
Msg #468455

Hello, I'm just getting started as a loan signer. Everywhere I look it says you need a laser printer. I have multiple laserjets. Do I really need a laser printer? Or is that just a suggestion since they might be better for high volume printing?

thanks.

Reply by NVLSlady/VA on 5/2/13 10:16pm
Msg #468458

Re: Do I really need a laser printer? Yes AND Adobe

Hi Randy.
1.) How many pages do you anticipate are actually in a loan closing package?
2.) How much time do you anticipate you'll actually have between receiving your docs and the appointment?

YES!! Absolutely, a laser printer is needed (Oh, and if you were wondering by chance whether you need Adobe, PLEASE DON'T).

p.s. "multiple laserjets"?

Reply by Jack/AL on 5/2/13 10:50pm
Msg #468475

If you have multiple laserjets, then you have multiple laser printers. HP calls its laser printers "laserjets." Mine is an HP 2055 Laserjet, and it is great for my volume of work. Yes, it is a laser printer. Some responders to your post seem to be commenting as though you want to know whether it is OK to use ink printers, although your question did not mention ink. I'm not certain whether you are wanting information about comparing laser printers to ink printers, or just not realizing that a laserjet is a laser printer. What say you? And yes, you need laser printers for the various reasons mentioned by others.

Reply by ibnotary on 5/4/13 8:08pm
Msg #468773

Thanks. Oops, my bad. I meant to say I have multiple inkjets, (not laserjets.)

Reply by Teresa/FL on 5/2/13 10:18pm
Msg #468460

Re: Do I really need a laser printer? YES, for these reasons

Lenders require docs be printed on a laser printer

Printing costs per page are less for laser than inkjet, especially if you refill your cartridges