Notary Rotary
Newbie getting started
Notary Discussion History

Newbie getting started
Go Back to May, 2013 Index

Posted by chrish/oh on 5/18/13 8:47pm
Msg #470455

Newbie getting started

I just got my Notary in OH. I am a Realtor so I am familiar with loan docs and closings. And I have an online certification course I am almost done with. I had a call from a company the other day I couldn't do it was that afternoon and I already had an appointment. I was hoping I could have a company go over what I need to do with the docs first time. Cert course is just going over the docs required which I already know from real estate. But this guy sounded like he wouldn't help even if I could have done it. Any advice to get my feet wet?

Reply by jba/fl on 5/18/13 9:07pm
Msg #470458

Take off your shoes and jump into the deep end of the pool.

Reply by Blueink_TN on 5/18/13 9:32pm
Msg #470460

Martha, your profile screams non-confident. Change it, only state positive comments. With your background in RE, you probably know more than most of the new SA's starting out. Learn your notary procedures and you'll do just fine!

Reply by chrish/oh on 5/18/13 9:42pm
Msg #470461

Thanks Blueink. I thought hitting my non experience head on would work to my advantage. And yes the notary side of the closing docs is where I will need help in beginning. Maybe I will change to stress the dozens of closings I have attended as Realtor.

Reply by KLPsandiego on 5/18/13 9:54pm
Msg #470462

Martha, I sent you a private message. You have to go back "my account" and look for it.

Reply by Sylvia_FL on 5/18/13 9:54pm
Msg #470463

Chris
Your negative profile will only get you calls from the low ball signing services who will feel they can take advantage of you.
You more than likely know the loan documents inside out. The notary side is just making sure you know your state's notary laws and notarizing the documents according to Ohio law.

Reply by LKT/CA on 5/18/13 10:32pm
Msg #470466