Notary Rotary
Question about Per Diem Interest Disclosure
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to May, 2013 Index

Posted by ibnotary on 5/11/13 10:32am
Msg #469658

Hello, I'm still quite new at this . . .

I have a question about the Per Diem Interest Disclosure. Yes, I know I don't need to understand and explain it to the signers, but this form perplexes me and I'd simply like to understand it better.

I understand that the whole issue is that if the loan is recorded on a Friday and funding doesn't occur until after the weekend, then there is an interest impact for those extra days.

What I don't understand is the option that says "Please arrange for the disbursement of the loan proceeds on a day immediately following a business day." Can someone help clarify how this option helps? It seems to me that if the loan is recorded on Friday and they select this option, then it won't be able to fund until Tuesday (the day after a business day), which will delay it further?

Thanks in advance!

Reply by Clem/CA on 5/11/13 10:57am
Msg #469660

If they choose that option the loan can't record on Fri, unless it also funds on the same day.

Reply by JJNotary/CA on 5/11/13 12:17pm
Msg #469664

This form bothers me also. I just do not see how the average person can make this decision w/o more information being given to them. Many of these people only see this form once or twice in their lifetime, this is not terminology they see every day or even every week. I have watched couple struggle over this one - not knowing how bad it is to choice the wrong one - and have to wait while I try and get someone one the phone for them at 9 o'clock at night.

I guess, I wish it came with a better explanation of what their choices mean. I watched a couple, with a doctorate in Mathematics no less, struggle with the right choice. While they understood one choice would cost money and one choice would delay funding - they were unclear how much it would affect their loan.