Notary Rotary
New Sigining Agent Has Question
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to April, 2004 Index

Posted by ah100993 on 4/19/04 8:21pm
Msg #1556

I am new to the signing agent industry and from what I gather it is most common for the signing agent to conduct the signing at the clients home. I am feeling a bit uneasy about going into a strangers home by myself. I am a petite woman and am worried about my personal safety. I have heard that it is ok to suggest a neutral meeting place to conduct the signing, but doesn't this defeat the purpose of making the signing convienent for the client? Any advice would be helpful.

Reply by Pam Gibson on 4/19/04 9:24pm
Msg #1558

I felt the same way as you did when I first started. Very nervous about my safety.
What I do, is let my husband know when I get to a clients home by calling him upon arriving. I also leave an address of where I will be. If he has not heard from me within an hour, he usually calls me and ask if I am o.k. I know you shouldn't answer the phone, but that is why he waits for about an hour. I am usually almost done. He will ask if I am o.k. If I come back with an off the wall answer, he knows something is up. Thank you God I have never had to answer like that. I keep my cell phone on the table at all times.
If you feel very uncomfortable going into a well known "bad area", take someone with you. This was discussed in the course I took a while back. Better safe than sorry.

Good luck on your new journey!

Reply by Roger/OH on 4/19/04 11:38pm
Msg #1559