Notary Rotary
All docs are incomplete
Notary Discussion History

All docs are incomplete
Go Back to August, 2004 Index

Posted by rouj on 8/31/04 1:51pm
Msg #7064

All docs are incomplete

I have a signing scheduled for tonight and all of the docs are incomplete.. affidavit as to total payment -- no amount, affidavit of outstanding principle balance-- no amount, nor tax parcel ID 3 or address, finance affidavit --- no liber/folio infor or loan amount. The borrower has agreed to sign these incomplete docs and they want me to witness or notorize. The mortgager said they will fill in the docs later. This seems highly irregular. Has anyone else run across this situation?

Reply by lynnboop on 8/31/04 1:55pm
Msg #7065

I am no expert but i beleive that is a no no. Something doesn't seem right. I would not do it.

Reply by rouj on 8/31/04 2:22pm
Msg #7068

Seemed very strange to me too.

Reply by Jon on 8/31/04 2:09pm
Msg #7067

Some docs are frequently incomplete, especially the ones dealing with current insurance, current loan amounts and account numbers. The only ones I would be concerned about are the ones that need notarizations. They must be complete or you can not complete the notarization. If the the borrowers want to sign other docs that are not complete, that is their choice, not yours.

This is based on the laws of CA and may or may not reflect the laws of any other state.

Reply by rouj on 8/31/04 2:25pm
Msg #7070

Thanks. I'll follow that advice.

Reply by Loretta Reed on 8/31/04 4:18pm
Msg #7073

I do this everyday. The refinance affadavit and payoff letters are done once the docs come back signed.

Reply by BrendaTX on 8/31/04 7:09pm
Msg #7087

Not to be argumentative, but

How can a notary properly do the notary work on an incomplete affidavit?

One cannot swear to what one does not know.

Reply by HisHughness on 8/31/04 8:39pm
Msg #7095

BrendaTXXX retorted:

***Not to be argumentative, but