Notary Rotary
Don't call me just any old newbie!
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to August, 2004 Index

Posted by Reenie/CA on 8/28/04 8:48pm
Msg #6930

I am a certified signing agent who has diligently searched the boards and learned so much from all of you veterans. I am putting together a fee schedule and wanted some input as to how far you travel for your base fee, how much mileage you charge, etc. I am sure it will vary from region to region, however, I guess I am just looking for a jump start to get my fees set in stone. I have been signing for a month and want to have a fee schedule so I don't undercut myself, find myself changing/adjusting my fees on a daily basis or worse yet, just accepting any job. Any input would be valuable and most appreciated. Thanks in advance to all of you veterans for your kind help!

P.S. I hope I spelled everything correctly and used correct punctuation >>Hugh<<.

Reply by HisHughness on 8/28/04 9:19pm
Msg #6933

Reenie opined:

***P.S. I hope I spelled everything correctly and used correct punctuation >>Hugh<<. ***

You spelled my name correctly, Reenie. That will expiate a multitude of sins.

I charge $125 to title companies for closings in my county and any county adjacent to it. One county over I add $25. Sure does simplify the bookkeeping. If things are slow and I agree to an SS closing, it's $75 and $125. E-docs, execution set and a borrower's copy set, are $35.

Be sure to keep a list of all signing companies you enroll with. When you go up on your fees, you'll want to go back and update them.

Good luck.

Reply by BrendaTX on 8/30/04 2:16am
Msg #6995

Hi Reenie,

Sylvia once posted a good way to figure travel costs.

I put it into a chart/spreadsheet so that I could look at it and figure out where I wanted to set my rates. I figured it at bases of $50, $55, $60, $65 and $75.