Notary Rotary
Car expenses
Notary Discussion History

Car expenses
Go Back to December, 2004 Index

Posted by John/Newby CA on 12/4/04 7:40pm
Msg #12728

Car expenses

Hi guys, just wondering how you write off car expenses for income tax in the situation that you don't have enough room in your home for a "qualifying home office"? As far as I can find in tax publications, if you go from home to 1 signing and back home, it is all considered commuting miles (not tax deductible). I apprciate your imput.

Reply by Steve on 12/4/04 9:37pm
Msg #12731

Hi John. I am an accountant as well as a notary signing agent. If you have not started a corporation, you are a sole proprietorship and need to report your income and expenses from signings on Schedule C. You can take 37.5 cents a mile as automobile expense in 2004 for all business related travel. Commuting mileage is when you are travelling to and from an office and you are a direct W-2 wage earner. So keep track of all of your mileage driven and you will see that your income will be offset big time by automobile mileage expense resulting in a significant decrease in your tax liability. Also make sure and deduct all of your office supplies and yes you can also take a business in the home deduction too. Any other questions, you and anyone else are more than welcome to call me anytime at 561-715-4200

Reply by Maureen/nh on 12/5/04 2:38am
Msg #12735

Steve, how can you set up a home office deduction without a designated room? I do have one but am asking for others. Actually in this business my whole darned house is office, but tell that to the IRS.

Reply by Steve on 12/5/04 7:32am
Msg #12737

Re:Car Expense

Maureen, you are right. Of course you need a designated room as an office and the square footage only for that room as a percent of the entire house is used.

Reply by Linda on 12/5/04 9:55am
Msg #12738

Re: Re:Car Expense