Notary Rotary
Backdating
Notary Discussion History

Backdating
Go Back to July, 2004 Index

Posted by Axdria/FL on 7/21/04 8:12pm
Msg #4782

Backdating

I am a little unsure whether I understand the concept backdating of documents.

I am new to the industry and I received my first signing last night. Upon arriving at the closing, the borrower did not want to sign because some figures were wrong, and I was advised by the title company that it was ok to leave.

The title company called today and asked me to do the closing again using the forms I printed. I pointed out that some forms were dated 7/20. I was told that since I was there last night that it would be ok to date the notarial certificate 7/20. I did not feel comfortable, so I refused the signing. I then consulted with another notary friend and I was told that it would be ok to date the notary certificates 7/20 because I had witnessed the borrower's signature the night before when he signed my notary log. If I had gone to the closing and did what was asked of me, would that be considered back dating?

Please clarify for me. Thanks much!

Reply by HisHughness on 7/21/04 8:25pm
Msg #4784

I don't think the operative date in this instance is the date the party signed the notary log; it is the date the party signed the document, which I gather did not happen. If you had witnessed the signature on the document on the 20th, then that is the appropriate date on the notarial certificate, regardless of the date the certificate itself is filled in, because fundamentally you are attesting to the party's signature, not your own.

Big Daddy PAW probably will have something to add, something not, I hope, too far at odds with what I just opined. Further, you probably can expect to hear from the Robin of Florida's Dynamic Notarial Duo, Sylvia_Fl.

Reply by PAW Notary Services on 7/21/04 9:18pm
Msg #4789

Yes, Hughness, you're right, I do have something to add. My comments are obviously based on Florida law, but...