Notary Rotary
For neophytes
Notary Discussion History

For neophytes
Go Back to July, 2004 Index

Posted by HisHughness on 7/16/04 12:26pm
Msg #4536

For neophytes

Two suggestions for neophytes (and maybe some veterans who are as clueless as I was before this morning):

1. Had a signing for an affidavit for a keeper of records this morning. One affidavit in an area a distance from the office, where I was going to be anyway; only non-real estate matter I've handled in the two years I've been a signing agent. Inadvertently left my stamp. Realized it as I was about to stamp a second affidavit just blocks away (title company left affidavit out of the original packet). Had to return to the earlier location for my stamp. I would have been royally screwed were the two locations not so close together -- or if I had lost my stamp. Moral: First thing today when I have time, I order a second stamp to keep in the car.

2. Notarylinks.com has sent me a moderate amount of business lately. Sign-up is free. I note that my dashingly lovely Texas compatriot Brenda Stone is signed up there also, as is the hoary NotRot habitue Paul Williamson. I'd recommend everybody, newbie and veteran, get on board there.

Reply by redonthehead on 7/16/04 1:35pm
Msg #4539

Response to the double seal. CA notaries are only allowed to have one seal, which, like many other states, has to be kept locked and in a secure area. Failure to do this could result in a fine up to $750 and loss of commission.

Reply by HisHughness on 7/16/04 2:46pm
Msg #4546

Sorry, didn't mean to lead anybody astray and into the paths of notarial unrighteousness by advising them to have a second seal. However, in my defense I think we should remember, with regard to California requirements for notaries and their seals, that this is the state that elected Gray Davis and Arnold Schwarzenegger governor. In that kind of climate, you can expect almost anything.

Reply by Stephanie/CA on 7/16/04 10:40pm
Msg #4572