Notary Rotary
I forgot my journal
Notary Discussion History

I forgot my journal
Go Back to July, 2004 Index

Posted by Anonymous on 7/27/04 1:47pm
Msg #5058

I forgot my journal

I am a newbie for starters. Well, the other day I had a signing 35 miles away (70 roundtrip) and when I got there I realized I didn't have my notary journal. I went on with the signing but of course couldn't have the borrowers sign the journal. Should I have done this? Will I get in trouble because the signatures are missing from my journal? Should I make some kind of notation in the journal explaining the missing signatures???? Oh! I'm in the state of New Jersey which requires a journal.

Reply by anonymous on 7/27/04 2:24pm
Msg #5065

This is funny

Reply by Anonymous on 7/27/04 2:49pm
Msg #5067

Why??? Everything you do is always correct?

Reply by Gracie on 7/27/04 2:57pm
Msg #5068

You should check with your state's requirements to be sure, Anony, but I don't think NJ requires customer signatures in the journal. Just record the information on a piece of paper and transfer the info to the journal when you get back home.

P.S. I have no idea what anony found to be so funny.

Reply by Anonymous on 7/27/04 3:00pm
Msg #5069

Thanks so much for the helpful information.

Reply by Not helpful! Not helpful! on 7/27/04 3:06pm
Msg #5070

I apologize, Anony, I just re-read NJ law, the customer does have to sign the journal. I would simply make a notation when you copy the info into the journal about what happened. Make sure customer name/address/ID information is complete to make up for it. You'll only get in trouble if the notarization is contested in court or something remote like that.

Gracie

Reply by CA_Notary on 7/27/04 3:36pm
Msg #5076

I've forgotten my journal on 2 occasions. Both times I did the signing and returned later to have them sign the journal. Suck it up and make the trip again, better safe than sorry.