Notary Rotary
Mobile Notary pricing
Notary Discussion History

Mobile Notary pricing
Go Back to July, 2004 Index

Posted by Sonia_FL on 7/19/04 10:14am
Msg #4616

Mobile Notary pricing

I am a new signing agent and also advertise as a Mobile Notary. Does any one know the average price to sign a document. individual called 2 documents 27 miles away one way what would be the average fee?

Reply by Elizabeth on 7/19/04 11:14am
Msg #4619

It varies widely by area.

When I moved to my new part of the state, I tried to charge $50-$65 for your sort of job. No takers. I kept lowering the price. I finally got jobs when I started charging $25-$45 and restricted the number of miles I was willing to travel.

Sounds low, but these jobs are always cash or check on the spot. I won't travel more than 10 miles one way for them. No FedEx back, etc. So they are actually more lucrative than $50 SS jobs.

I wing it with every quote. Businesses are willing to pay more than individuals. Adult children of people in retirement homes are grateful and willing to pay more. Jobs that take more time (like Wills), get more.

I always ask what the documents are before I give a quote. I get at least one call each week asking me to notarize things I am not allowed to notarize (like copies of birth certificates). I try to be helpful. People remember kindness.

You will have to slog your own way through pricing for non-loan work.

An additional tip: you really must know your notary regulations COLD for this type of work.

Reply by Sonia_Fl on 7/19/04 2:51pm
Msg #4622

Thank for your reply that is what I thought when I realized it was an individual, receiving cash, and exposure. But I guess thats our business we need to give a little to get a little.

Reply by PAW Notary Services on 7/19/04 12:17pm
Msg #4620

In FL, you cannot charge more than $10 per document (or application of your seal) no matter how many signers there are.