Notary Rotary
Something I experienced
Notary Discussion History

Something I experienced
Go Back to July, 2004 Index

Posted by Newbie_CA on 7/30/04 1:19pm
Msg #5247

Something I experienced

I had a situation arise the other night during a signing where the documents were drafted in this person's legal name and his i.d. was under his nickname (i.e. Jonathan and Johnny). I informed him that I needed to see "proper identification" with his full legal name. He looked at me as though I had handed him a dead squirrel or something. After stating to me that he never went by his full name so he didn't have anything with his full name, he said that he never had this problem in the past while having documents notarized.

I am a newbie, as you can tell from my forum alias, so I specifically remember that the i.d. must never be less than the name being notarized. It seems so small but I just didn't want to take any chances.

I normally tell the signer the name that appears on the docs and that their i.d. must match but in this case I was still waiting for the docs to be messengered to me.

Thank God he produced a passport with his full legal name giving me peace of mind and the ability to legally notarize his docs.

Reply by redonthehead on 7/30/04 5:15pm
Msg #5249

You could have also gotten 2 credible witnesses for identification.

Reply by Bob-Chicago on 7/30/04 5:46pm
Msg #5250

Caution RE:Credible Witness

Some on us East of Lalaland have different rules regarding "Credible witness"
Illinois requires that the credible witness be personally known to the notary. In other words, the witness may not be a neighbor, friend or relative of borrower not previously known by the notary. If known to the notary, then the credible witness must make their identification of the signer by oath or affirmation and only one such witness is required.
In the case of identification docs, Illinois only requires "identifcation documents"