Notary Rotary
Startup advice
Notary Discussion History

Startup advice
Go Back to July, 2004 Index

Posted by Missey on 7/8/04 8:29am
Msg #4062

Startup advice

I am a newbie and am trying to be as smart as I can about getting into the field. My question for you experienced signing agents is this: if you were starting your business again, what would you change and what would you do the same way?

Thanks in advance for sharing.

Reply by Katherine on 7/8/04 9:49am
Msg #4066

I would have done more intensive demographic and saturation research on my area to see if there would be enough work for me. I did around 50 signings before I started to catch on to how many hundreds of NSAs serve my coverage area.

I would have gotten materials from JustPointAndSign.com I would not have taken the signing agent seminar by the NNA. (Although I did get my money back from them - the course was so bad.)

I would have studied more and lurked on the boards more before taking my first signing appointment. Reading 4 boards every day is about right, especially the first year.

What I did do right:
*Signed up with over 250 companies.
*Knew my notary regulations COLD before my first signing.
*Took as many SS jobs as I could get to gain experience and learn.

Reply by Missey on 7/8/04 10:54am
Msg #4071

Uh oh...

I took the NNA Signing Agent Course last December (I haven't done any signings yet because I've been out of state on family business & can't get a non-resident notary commission where I am now). Katherine, when you say the course was bad, what do you mean? Am I going to be completely lost when I actually dive in?

Thanks for your feedback!

Reply by Stephanie on 7/8/04 2:52pm
Msg #4084

Re: Uh oh...

Missey:

I took the National Notary Association Signing Agent Certification course & exam; personally, I thought it was fantastic.
You see, I was on the "ground floor" when the NNA started educating Signing Agents.